About the Association

Current Officers, Council Members, and Committees

Officers

President:  Lori Beaman, University of Ottawa (2015-2016 President)

President-Elect:  Michael O. Emerson, North Park University (2016-2017 President)

Immediate Past-President:  Melissa Wilde, University of Pennsylvania (2014-2015 President)

Previous Past-President: Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013-2014 President)

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida (2012-2016), jcavendi@usf.edu

Non-Voting Members of the Executive Council

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida (2012-2016), jcavendi@usf.edu

2016 Program Chair:  Ryan Cragun, University of Tampa, ryantcragun@gmail.com

Editor of Sociology of Religion:  Gerardo Marti, Davidson College (2014-2016), gemarti@davidson.edu

Voting Members of the Executive Council

The President, President-Elect, and Immediate Past-President (as named above)

9 Elected Council Members (3 of which are elected each year to serve a 3-year term; the year term expires is in parentheses):

Christopher Bader, Chapman University (2016), bader@chapman.edu

Evelyn Bush, Fordham University (2016), ebush@fordham.edu

Michael Emerson, North Park University (2016), moe@northpark.edu

Richard Flory, University of Southern California (2017), rflory@usc.edu

Giuseppe Giordan, University of Padua, Italy (2017), giuseppe.giordan@unipd.it

Milagros Pena, University of California – Riverside (2017), milagros.pena@ucr.edu

Mary Ellen Konieczny, University of Notre Dame (2018), Konieczny.1@nd.edu

Lisa D. Pearce, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2018), ldpearce@unc.edu

Jeremy Uecker, Baylor University (2018), Jeremy_Uecker@baylor.edu

 

Standing Committees (and year term expires)*

Publications Committee:

Chair:  Melissa Wilde, University of Pennsylvania (2016), mwilde@sas.upenn.edu

Richard Wood, University of New Mexico (2016), rlwood@unm.edu

Terrence Hill, University of Arizona (2017), terrence.hill@soc.utah.edu

Elaine Howard Ecklund, Rice University (2017), ehe@rice.edu

Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2017), christopher.ellison@utsa.edu

Development (or Finance) Committee:

Chair:  Ted Long, President Emeritus of Elizabethtown College and former President and Executive Officer of ASR (2017), longte@etown.edu

Fred Kniss, Provost of Eastern Mennonite University and former President of ASR (2015), fred.kniss@emu.edu

Kevin Dougherty, Baylor University (2016), kevin_dougherty@baylor.edu

Michael Emerson, North Park University (2018), moe@northpark.edu

Membership Committee:

Chair:  Andrea Henderson, University of South Carolina (2016), ahenderson@sc.edu

Gabriel Acevedo, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2017), gabriel.acevedo@utsa.edu

Michael Wilkinson, Trinity Western University (2018), michael.wilkinson@twu.ca

International Liaison Committee:

Chair:  Gladys Ganiel, Queen’s University Belfast (2017), G.Ganiel@qub.ac.uk

Rachel Rinaldo, University of Virginia (2016), rar8y@virginia.edu

Damon Mayrl, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (2018), dmayrl@clio.uc3m.es

Joseph Fichter Award Committee:

Chair: Richard Pitt, Vanderbilt University (2017), r.pitt@vanderbilt.edu, r.pitt@duke.edu

Jeremy Thomas, Idaho State University (2016), thomjer4@isu.edu

Cathy Holtmann, University of New Brunswick (2018), cathy.holtmann@unb.ca

Robert McNamara Award Committee:

Chair:  Sabrina Danielsen, University of Pennsylvania (2017), dsabrina@sas.upenn.edu

Kathleen Jenkins, The College of William and Mary (2016), kejenk@wm.edu

Aida Ramos-Wada, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2017), aida.ramos@utsa.edu

Distinguished Article Award Committee:

Chair:  Nicolette Manglos-Weber, University of Notre Dame (2016), nmanglos@gmail.com

Alex Bierman, University of Calgary (2017), aebierma@ucalgary.ca

Mark Chaves, Duke University (2017), mac58@soc.duke.edu

Rahsaan Maxwell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2018), rahsaan@email.unc.edu

Lifetime Achievement Award Committee:

Chair: Rhys Williams, Loyola University Chicago (2017), rwilliams7@luc.edu

Amy Adamczyk, City University of New York – John Jay (2017), aadamczyk@jjay.cuny.edu

Michele Dillon, University of New Hampshire (2017), michele.dillon@unh.edu

 

*NOTE:  Members of Standing Committees serve for three-year terms.  They are not members of Council, and therefore do not vote.  Incoming members are appointed at each Annual Meeting by the outgoing President.  The year in which the member’s term expires is in parentheses.  Chairs of these committees are appointed at each Annual Meeting by the incoming President and serve as chair for the duration of his/her presidency.

 

Ad Hoc Committees**

2014-2015 Committee on Nominations:

Chair:  Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio, christopher.ellison@utsa.edu

 

2016 Annual Program Committee:

2016 Program Chair:  Ryan Cragun, University of Tampa, ryantcragun@gmail.com

2016  President:  Lori Beaman, University of Ottawa, lbeaman@uottawa.ca

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida, jcavendi@usf.edu

Search Committee for Executive Officer:

Chair: Michael Emerson, North Park University (2016-2017 President), moe@northpark.edu

Lori Beaman, University of Ottawa (2015-2016 President)

Melissa Wilde, University of Pennsylvania (2014-2015 President)

Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013-2014 President)

Fred Kniss, Eastern Mennonite University (2012-2013 President)

Resolutions Committee:

Chair pro tempore:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida

 

**NOTE:  Members of Ad Hoc Committees serve for one-year terms.  The Immediate Past President serves as chair of the Committee on Nominations and the Incoming President appoints the other members of this committee as well as the Program Chair for the year of his/her presidency.   Members appointed to Ad Hoc Committees are not members of Council, and therefore do not vote.

 

Previous Council Members:

Kevin Dougherty, Baylor University (2012-2015), kevin_dougherty@baylor.edu

Rebecca Kim, Pepperdine University (2012-2015), rebecca.y.kim@pepperdine.edu

Prema Kurien, Syracuse University (2012-2015), pkurien@syr.edu

Amy Adamczyk, City University of New York (2011-2014), aadamczyk@jjay.cuny.edu

Jerome Baggett, Santa Clara University (2011-2014), jbaggett@jstb.edu

Kelly Chong, University of Kansas (2011-2014), kchong@ku.edu