About the Association

Current Officers, Council Members, and Committees

Officers

President:  Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013-2014 President)

President-Elect:  Melissa Wilde, University of Pennsylvania (2014-2015 President)

Immediate Past-President:  Fred Kniss, Eastern Mennonite University

Incoming President-Elect:  Lori Beaman, University of Ottawa

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida (2012-2016), jcavendi@usf.edu

Non-Voting Members of the Executive Council

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida (2012-2016)

2014 Program Chair:  Jeremy Uecker, Baylor University, jeremy_uecker@baylor.edu

2015 Program Chair:  Kristin Geraty, North Central College, kgeratybonacci@noctrl.edu

Editor of Sociology of Religion:  Gerardo Marti, Davidson College (2014-2016), gemarti@davidson.edu

Voting Members of the Executive Council

The President, President-Elect, and Immediate Past-President (as named above)

9 Elected Council Members (3 of which are elected each year to serve a 3-year term; the year term expires is in parentheses):

Amy Adamczyk, City University of New York (2014), aadamczyk@jjay.cuny.edu

Jerome Baggett, Santa Clara University (2014), jbaggett@jstb.edu

Kelly Chong, University of Kansas (2014), kchong@ku.edu

Kevin Dougherty, Baylor University (2015), kevin_dougherty@baylor.edu

Rebecca Kim, Pepperdine University (2015), rebecca.y.kim@pepperdine.edu

Prema Kurien, Syracuse University (2015), pkurien@syr.edu

Christopher Bader, Chapman University (2016), bader@chapman.edu

Evelyn Bush, Fordham University (2016), ebush@fordham.edu

Michael Emerson, Rice University (2016), moe@rice.edu

Richard Flory, University of Southern California (2017), rflory@usc.edu

Giuseppe Giordan, University of Padua, Italy (2017), giuseppe.giordan@unipd.it

Milagros Pena, University of Florida (2017), mpena@ufl.edu

 

Standing Committees (and year term expires)*

Publications Committee:

Chair:  currently vacant

Nancy Nason-Clark, University of New Brunswick (2014)

Rebecca Kim, Pepperdine University (2015), rebecca.y.kim@pepperdine.edu

Richard Wood, University of New Mexico (2016), rlwood@unm.edu

Terrence Hill, University of Arizona (2017), terrence.hill@soc.utah.edu

Elaine Howard Ecklund, Rice University (2017), ehe@rice.edu

Development (or Finance) Committee:

Kevin Dougherty, Baylor University, 2014 chair (2016), kevin_dougherty@baylor.edu

Michael Wilkinson, Trinity Western University (2014), michael.wilkinson@twu.ca

Fred Kniss, Provost of Eastern Mennonite University and former President of ASR (2015), fred.kniss@emu.edu

Ted Long, President Emeritus of Elizabethtown College and former President and Executive Officer of ASR (2017), longte@etown.edu

Membership Committee:

Gabriel Acevedo, The University of Texas at San Antonio, 2014 chair (2017), gabriel.acevedo@utsa.edu

Paula Nesbitt, GTU Berkeley (2014), paula_nesbitt@post.harvard.edu

Gerardo Marti, Davidson College (2015), gemarti@davidson.edu

Andrea Henderson, University of South Carolina (2016), ahenderson@sc.edu

International Liaison Committee:

Prema Kurien, Syracuse University, 2014 chair (2015), pkurien@syr.edu

Giuseppe Giordan, University of Padova (2014), giuseppe.giordan@unipd.it

Rachel Rinaldo, University of Virginia (2016), rar8y@virginia.edu

Gladys Ganiel, Trinity College Dublin (2017), gganiel@tcd.ie

Joseph Fichter Award Committee:

Helen Berger, Brandeis University, 2014 chair (2014), haberger@brandeis.edu

Mary Ellen Konieczny, University of Notre Dame (2015), Konieczny.1@nd.edu

Jeremy Thomas, Idaho State University (2016), thomjer4@isu.edu

Richard Pitt, Vanderbilt University (2017), r.pitt@vanderbilt.edu

Robert McNamara Award Committee:

Kathleen Jenkins, William & Mary, 2014 chair (2016), kejenk@wm.edu

Perry Chang, Presbyterian Church, USA (2014), perrydchang@gmail.com

Kevin McElmurry, Indiana University NW (2015), kmcelmur@iun.edu

Aida Ramos-Wada, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2017), aida.ramos@utsa.edu

Distinguished Article Award Committee:

John Bartkowski, The University of Texas at San Antonio, 2014 chair (2015), john.bartkowski@utsa.edu

Alex Bierman, University of Calgary, aebierma@ucalgary.ca (2017)

Nicolette Manglos-Weber, University of Notre Dame, nmanglos@gmail.com (2017)

Lifetime Achievement Award Committee:

Michele Dillon, University of New Hampshire, inaugural chair, michele.dillon@unh.edu

Rhys Williams, Loyola University Chicago, rwilliams7@luc.edu (2017)

Amy Adamczyk, City University of New York – John Jay, aadamczyk@jjay.cuny.edu (2017)

 

*NOTE:  Members of Standing Committees serve for three-year terms.  They are not members of Council, and therefore do not vote.  Incoming members are appointed at each Annual Meeting by the outgoing President.  The year in which the member’s term expires is in parentheses.  Chairs of these committees are appointed at each Annual Meeting by the incoming President and serve as chair for the duration of his/her presidency.

 

Ad Hoc Committees**

Distinguished Article Award Committee:

John Bartkowski, University of Texas San Antonio, 2014 chair, john.bartkowski@utsa.edu

Alex Bierman, University of Calgary

Nicolette Manglos-Weber, University of Notre Dame

2013-2014 Committee on Nominations:

Immediate Past President:  Fred Kniss, Eastern Mennonite University, chair

Melinda Denton, University of Texas at San Antonio

Fenggang Yang, Purdue University

2014-2015 Committee on Nominations:

Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013-2014 President)

 

2014 Annual Program Committee:

2014 Program Chair:  Jeremy Uecker, Baylor University

2014 President:  Christopher Ellison, The University of Texas at San Antonio

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida

2015 Annual Program Committee:

2015 Program Chair:  Kristin Geraty, North Central College

2015  President:  Melissa Wilde, University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida

Resolutions Committee:

Chair pro tempore:  James C. Cavendish, University of South Florida

 

**NOTE:  Members of Ad Hoc Committees serve for one-year terms.  The Immediate Past President serves as chair of the Committee on Nominations and the Incoming President appoints the other members of this committee as well as the Program Chair for the year of his/her presidency.   Members appointed to Ad Hoc Committees are not members of Council, and therefore do not vote.